Organisation and departmental bodies


Director of administration:
Dr Michael Kieninger
Room G 605
Phone: +49 7531 88-2745
Fax: +49 7531 88-3220

Head of department:
Professor Thomas Müller
Room G 504
Phone: +49 7531 88-2567

Dean of studies:
Professor Dorothea Debus
Room: G 606
Phone: +49 7531 88-2752

Departmental office:
Anke McLintock
Room G 628
Phone: +49 7531 88-4721
Fax: +49 7531 88-3220
Opening hours: Mon & Thu 13:00-15:00; Tue & Fri 09:00-10:00

Departmental Council

The Departmental Council advises the faculty and facilitates its decision-making processes. It drafts proposals for the department-specific section of the faculty’s structure and development plan, the departmental examination regulations as well as the departmental course guide and gives its views on:

  • the faculty’s structure and development plan,
  • the creation, adaptation and discontinuation of faculty institutions,
  • the recommendations of appointments committees,
  • the recommendations of the Study Commissions regarding new study plans, study and examination regulations,
  • the new study programmes suggested by the Study Commissions.

Meeting minutes of the Departmental Council Philosophy

Study Commission

The Study Commission issues recommendations on the further development of subjects of study and teaching formats as well as on the use of teaching and learning resources and to collaborate on the evaluation of teaching as per § 5 Landeshochschulgesetz LHG (state law on higher education) by reviewing the students’ feedback on individual courses. To that end, it

  • drafts proposals for new study and examination regulations as well as study plans,
  • works to promote close collaboration in the area of teaching both between the departments and beyond the Faculty of Humanities,
  • makes suggestions for new interdisciplinary study programmes and collaborates on drafting corresponding concepts,
  • ensures that the courses offered in the individual study programmes conform to the official requirements,
  • appoints the Examination Board (Ständiger Prüfungsausschuss, StPA) for each study programme,
  • prepares reports on the development of teaching, studies and examinations in the department,
  • collaborates on suitable measures to evaluate and improve study and teaching.

 Meeting minutes of the Study Commission Philosophy

Examination Board (StPA)

The StPA is responsible for organising and carrying out the examinations. It ensures that the examination regulations are observed, reports to the Central Examination Board on the development of examinations and standard periods of study and submits suggestions for revising the examination regulations. The Examination Board decides on applications to re-sit an exam and may exclude students from participating in future performance assessments if they are found guilty of cheating (plagiarism).
There is a single Examination Board for all study programmes offered in the Department of Philosophy.

For more information, please contact the Director of administration:

Dr Michael Kieninger
Room G 605
Phone: +49 7531 88-2745
Fax: +49 7531 88-2718